“Introduction to the Songs of Innocence” by William Blake

Introduction to the Songs of Innocence

BY WILLIAM BLAKE

Born on 28th November 1757

Piping down the valleys wild,
Piping songs of pleasant glee,
On a cloud I saw a child,
And he laughing said to me:”Pipe a song about a Lamb!”
So I piped with merry cheer.
“Piper, pipe that song again;”
So I piped: he wept to hear.

“Drop thy pipe, thy happy pipe;
Sing thy songs of happy cheer!”
So I sung the same again,
While he wept with joy to hear.

“Piper, sit thee down and write
In a book, that all may read.”
So he vanished from my sight,

And I plucked a hollow reed,
And I made a rural pen,
And I stained the water clear,
And I wrote my happy songs
Every child may joy to hear.

About Surrey Libraries

Surrey Libraries for Books, eBooks, events for children & teens, author visits, learning, explore our Online Reference shelf plus much more...
This entry was posted in Blake William, Poetry, Poets and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave your comments and thoughts here

