‘I loved you first: but afterwards your love’ by Christina Rossetti

I loved you first: but afterwards your love

by Christina Rossetti

I loved you first: but afterwards your love

    Outsoaring mine, sang such a loftier song

As drowned the friendly cooings of my dove.

    Which owes the other most? my love was long,

    And yours one moment seemed to wax more strong;

I loved and guessed at you, you construed me

And loved me for what might or might not be –

    Nay, weights and measures do us both a wrong.

For verily love knows not ‘mine’ or ‘thine;’

    With separate ‘I’ and ‘thou’ free love has done,

         For one is both and both are one in love:

Rich love knows nought of ‘thine that is not mine;’

         Both have the strength and both the length thereof,

Both of us, of the love which makes us one.

Search Surrey Libraries’ catalogue for titles by Christina Rossetti

About Surrey Libraries

Surrey Libraries for Books, eBooks, events for children & teens, author visits, learning, explore our Online Reference shelf plus much more...
This entry was posted in Poetry, Poets, Rossetti Christina and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to ‘I loved you first: but afterwards your love’ by Christina Rossetti

  1. Pingback: It’s World Book Day 2015! … how about some poetry | Poetry in Surrey Libraries

  2. Pingback: National Poetry Day 2016 | Poetry in Surrey Libraries

Leave your comments and thoughts here

