‘No one sees me standing there’ by Sarah Telfer-Kingsnorth

‘No one sees me standing there’

by Sarah Telfer-Kingsnorth

“No one sees me standing there.
People pass without a care.
Even friends, I’m sure it’s you!
Pass me by, without a clue.
I stand alone, nobody says “hi”,
It’s hard when you can’t see to look people in the eye.
Somebody speak to me, acknowledge I’m there,
Somebody stop and show that you care.
I try to see if there’s someone I know,
But my vision is as clear as snow!
Others stand in groups and chat,
I want to be a part of that!
People think I’m slightly odd,
Stood all alone, on my todd!
Maybe people pass and smile or wave,
But i can’t assume, I’m not that brave.
There’s a visual world, all around,
My place in it, I’ve never found.
So if you see someone, who you know can’t see you,
Let me give you a little clue…
They want you to speak, to pass the time of day.
Just say “hello”, don’t walk away.”

Kindly reproduced from the Action for Blind People Facebook page

With grateful thanks to both Sarah and Action for Blind People who have kindly allowed us to re-post the poem on our blog. Please share this post with as many people as possible and help raise awareness. Thank you.

To find out more about the fantastic work of Action for Blind People:

About Surrey Libraries

Surrey Libraries for Books, eBooks, events for children & teens, author visits, learning, explore our Online Reference shelf plus much more...
This entry was posted in Poetry, Telfer-Kingsnorth Sarah and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to ‘No one sees me standing there’ by Sarah Telfer-Kingsnorth

  1. Elizabeth Wyatt says:

    This is a beautifully written poem, full of thought, passion and feeling

    Like

Leave your comments and thoughts here

