‘Oh Death Rock Me Asleep’

‘Oh Death Rock Me Asleep’DSCF4821-001

“O Death, O Death, rock me asleepe,
Bring me to quiet rest;
Let pass my weary guiltless ghost
Out of my careful breast.
Toll on, thou passing bell;

Ring out my doleful knell;
Thy sound my death abroad will tell,
For I must die,
There is no remedy.

My pains, my pains, who can express?
Alas, they are so strong!
My dolours will not suffer strength
My life for to prolong.
Toll on, thou passing bell;
Ring out my doleful knell;
Thy sound my death abroad will tell,
For I must die,
There is no remedy.

Alone, alone in prison strong
I wail my destiny:
Woe worth this cruel hap that I
Must taste this misery!
Toll on, thou passing bell;
Ring out my doleful knell;
Thy sound my death abroad will tell,
For I must die,
There is no remedy.

Farewell, farewell, my pleasures past!
Welcome, my present pain!
I feel my torment so increase
That life cannot remain.
Cease now, thou passing bell,
Ring out my doleful knoll,
For thou my death dost tell:
Lord, pity thou my soul!
Death doth draw nigh,
Sound dolefully:
For now I die,
I die, I die.”

Anne Boleyn was executed on this day in 1536, and it is believed that she wrote the above poem during her imprisonment. Thomas Wyatt certainly wrote poetry about Anne’s execution and his works can be found here.

About SurreyLibs

About Surrey Libraries Surrey Libraries for Books, eBooks, events for children & teens, author visits, learning, explore our Online Reference shelf plus much more...
This entry was posted in Boleyn Anne and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to ‘Oh Death Rock Me Asleep’

  1. Pingback: Tomorrow is #historyread for Read Watch Play | Poetry in Surrey Libraries

Leave your comments and thoughts here

