‘Go, Piteous Heart’ by John Skelton

‘Go, Piteous Heart’DSCF9120

by John Skelton

“Go, piteous heart, raséd with deadly woe,
Piercéd with pain, bleeding with woundes smart,
Bewail thy fortune, with veines wan and blo.
O Fortune unfriendly, Fortune unkind thou art
To be so cruel and so overthwart,
To suffer me so carefully to endure
That where I love best I dare not discure!

One there is, and ever one shall be,
For whose sake my heart is sore diseaséd;
For whose love welcome disease to me!
I am content so all parties be pleaséd:
Yet, an God would, I would my pain were eased!
But Fortune enforceth me so carefully to endure
That where I love best I dare not discure!”

John Skelton died on this day in 1529. Surrey Libraries has a selection of his works.

About SurreyLibs

About Surrey Libraries Surrey Libraries for Books, eBooks, events for children & teens, author visits, learning, explore our Online Reference shelf plus much more...
This entry was posted in Skelton John and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave your comments and thoughts here

