‘Dreams’ by Anne Bronte

‘Dreams’

by Anne BronteDSCF4821-001

“While on my lonely couch I lie,
I seldom feel myself alone,
For fancy fills my dreaming eye
With scenes and pleasures of its own.
Then I may cherish at my breast
An infant’s form beloved and fair,
May smile and soothe it into rest
With all a Mother’s fondest care.

How sweet to feel its helpless form
Depending thus on me alone!
And while I hold it safe and warm
What bliss to think it is my own!

And glances then may meet my eyes
That daylight never showed to me;
What raptures in my bosom rise,
Those earnest looks of love to see,

To feel my hand so kindly prest,
To know myself beloved at last,
To think my heart has found a rest,
My life of solitude is past!

But then to wake and find it flown,
The dream of happiness destroyed,
To find myself unloved, alone,
What tongue can speak the dreary void?

A heart whence warm affections flow,
Creator, thou hast given to me,
And am I only thus to know
How sweet the joys of love would be?”

Anne Bronte was born on this day in 1820. You can read more of her work through Surrey Libraries.

About SurreyLibs

About Surrey Libraries Surrey Libraries for Books, eBooks, events for children & teens, author visits, learning, explore our Online Reference shelf plus much more...
This entry was posted in Bronte Anne, Poets, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave your comments and thoughts here

