‘Workshop’ by Billy Collins

‘Workshop’

by Billy CollinsDSCF4821-001

“I might as well begin by saying how much I like the title.
It gets me right away because I’m in a workshop now
so immediately the poem has my attention,
like the Ancient Mariner grabbing me by the sleeve.

And I like the first couple of stanzas,
the way they establish this mode of self-pointing
that runs through the whole poem
and tells us that words are food thrown down
on the ground for other words to eat.
I can almost taste the tail of the snake
in its own mouth,
if you know what I mean…”

You can read the complete poem here. Billy Collins was born on this day in 1941, you can read more of his work through Surrey Libraries.

Want more? Take a look at our Words in Focus book, full of great work by Surrey Poets.

About SurreyLibs

About Surrey Libraries Surrey Libraries for Books, eBooks, events for children & teens, author visits, learning, explore our Online Reference shelf plus much more...
This entry was posted in Collins Billy, Poets, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave your comments and thoughts here

