‘All The Winged Creatures I Have Loved’ by Victor Hugo

‘All The Winged Creatures I Have Loved’

by Victor Hugo

“All the winged creatures I have loved!
And when, a child, I ‘neath the thicket roved,
I from their nests the little birds conveyed—
At first, of reeds I cages for them made,
Where, mid green mosses, I to tame them tried.
Later, I used to leave the windows wide:
They flew not off, or if the woods their choice,
Still they returned whene’er they heard my voice.
A dove and I long lived in friendliness!
Now I the art of taming souls possess.”

Victor Hugo died on this day in 1885, you can read more of his work through Surrey Libraries.

Want more? Take a look at our Words in Focus book, full of great work by Surrey Poets.

About SurreyLibs

About Surrey Libraries Surrey Libraries for Books, eBooks, events for children & teens, author visits, learning, explore our Online Reference shelf plus much more...
This entry was posted in Hugo Victor, Poets, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave your comments and thoughts here

