Ted Hughes is Elvis Presley by Ian McMillan

Ted Hughes is Elvis Presley

I didn’t die
that hot August night.
I faked it,

stuffed a barrage balloon
into a jump suit.
Left it slumped
on the bathroom floor.

Hitched a ride on a rig
rolling to New York. Climbed
into the rig, the driver said
‘Hey, you’re…’
‘Yeah, The Big Bopper. I faked it,
never died in that ‘plane crash.
Keep it under your lid.’
I tapped his hat with my porky fingers.
He nodded. We shared a big secret.

 

To read the full poem click here

Elvis Presley died on this day in 1977.

 

About jmgale

I try very hard and am sometimes right.
This entry was posted in Ian McMillan, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave your comments and thoughts here

